New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Guppy Multiple Moving Average (GMMA) Scans

Hello, All,

I am brand new to StockCharts.com, and have been having fun with the scan tool. I love the charting tools!

I'm a big fan of the Guppy Multiple Moving Average (GMMA). For those who aren't familiar with it, it is a collection of 2 6-EMA ribbons, one shorter term and one longer term. The ribbons themselves and the the interaction between them gives a great deal of information about a stocks current trend.

I'm looking for a scans that deal with the GMMA, or at least with MA ribbons in general. For example, maybe a scan for stocks for which the stort-term ribbon has crossed above or below the longer term ribbon, or for stocks for which the EMA's within the ribbon are converging or diverging, or crossing over one another within the ribbon.

Has anyone worked with or found any scans for EMA ribbons, or for the GMMA specifically? If not, can anyone give me some hints about the direction to go in order to create some?

I would appreciate any ideas or suggestions you may be able to offer.

Thanks!

Tom

Comments

• markdmarkd mod
    edited May 2017
    As far as I know, there are no built-in scans for GMMA. So you would have to build them yourself. You would need to take a little time to learn the scan engine syntax. Refer to the Support page options for scanning, including the videos. A bit of programming experience helps, but its not necessary. The main thing to know as background is, the scan engine usually expects things to be spelled a certain way exactly, including brackets, parentheses, commas and so on, and often the order of things makes a difference.

As for GMMA scans, it seems you could do at least three types.