New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Suggested scan parameters for pullbacks in trending stocks?

Hi,

I'm a swing trader that uses stockcharts for most of my research and scanning. It's an amazing site and tool. Most of my trading involves buying strong trending stocks that pullback to support levels or trendline. I don't wait for confirmation, I like to estimate support in advance, especially a convergence of levels, from pivots to MAs, and I set limit orders in advance, buying on the dips. I continue to experiment with different scan parameters but would appreciate suggestions on scanning for pullbacks. Especially those that are trending. OBV divergence is another interesting one, I'd appreciate suggestions on that one too. Thank you in advance!

Comments

• markdmarkd mod
    edited July 2014
    Hi AT, I'm not sure I can add anything to what you already know. These are just ways to scan for stocks that have a pullback that may be playable, not entries:

In good up trends, it seems support often occurs at or soon after one of these events

// K 10 crosses below the the 20 line - near a two week low

and [20 x Fast Stoch %K (10,1)]

// or K 21 crosses below the 20 line - near a one month low

and [20 x Fast Stoch %K (21,1)

// or K 63 crosses below the 20 line - near a quarterly low

and [20 x Fast Stoch %K (63,1)

For all three cases, the sharper the angle of K when crossing below 20, the more likely a good buyer response.

The odds seem to be better if K10 and K21 cross below 20 together; also better if K 63 crosses below 50 when when K10 and 21 cross below 20, or shortly (a few bars) after.

These are just set ups - heads ups to pay attention, not actual signals (except sometimes they really are the signal, it depends on the market).