New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Divergence with no effect?

LGIH has been making higher highs since Aug 19th, but showing lower highs on both the MACD and RSI...classic bearish divergence. But to no effect...until yesterday. It made 4 new highs and 4 lower peaks on MACD & RSI. This leaves me with 2 questions:
1) Is yesterday's 10% drop just long overdue?
2) If so...what took it so long?

I'm new to this, but reading Elder's "Trading for a Living", the Bullish/bearish divergence is supposed to be one of the strongest indicators in technical analysis.

Has anyone else run across a divergence that just wouldn't take hold?

Comments

• markdmarkd mod
    edited December 2015
    What MACD and RSI are telling you is that the stock is struggling harder to make those new highs. But that doesn't mean the stock is ready to give it up. If you look at April to August, you see a similar pattern for the MACD - each successive high taking longer or adding fewer points than the preceding leg, and yet the stock broke out to new highs.

So I think the lesson is, trend is stronger than divergence. As long as this stock was trading above it's rising intermediate MA (most people use 50), you would have been better off to look for long entries (like bullish divergences, as in July, when MACD made a lower low, but price did not). What MACD and RSI were accurately telling you with the bearish divergences was that there was not a lot more upside in this stock, at least for the time being. But, as I said, that is not the same as saying it's time to short.