New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Haydens Bottom Fishing

Hello,
I am a newbie to stockcharts although I use Linnsoft IRT stock program. I am trying to adapt to the different scan languages.
I am developing a trading system that consists of identifying when a stock or ETF has bottomed, ideally on a 52 week scale, and then has risen subtly, by 2%.
Theoretically the idea seems very easy, but I would appreciate people's suggestions.

Comments

• You could try testing the proximity of prices to the 251 day (one year) lower price channel over some period of time.

So for instance, you might specify that the minimum low over some period equals the current lower price channel

and [min(x, low) = min(x, Lower Price Chan(251))]

That tells you the most recent low has occurred within x days.

Then you would test that the maximum price in that time frame is less than 2% above the min Lower Price Chan:

and [max(y, high) < min(x, Lower Price Chan(251)) * 1.02]

I'm not sure whether it would work best if x and y are equal, or y a little shorter.
  • Thank you so much for your rapid reply. This is a totally new scan language I have to adapt to, very puzzling these first days but hopefully it will sink in. I'll try your suggestion and see what I get.
  • Hi @hayden1059 It's much less complicated than it might appear, especially if you have just a little experience with writing any kind of code.

Like any language, the scan language must be written in a particular format, but the rules are few and very simple. There are just a few syntax requirements (mainly using the brackets to group statements - parentheses are for functions only - like max() and min().), and just a few functions and operators. There are no variables, no arrays, no memory management, etc.