New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Crossing

Hi...newbie here. I've searched but not found anything that was helpful for me in my newness. Two questions:

1 -- Would the following be correct for when price crosses above certain levels in the monthly FORCE and Wm's %R indicators? --

and [monthly FORCE(13) crosses > 0.0]
and [monthly Williams %R(14) crosses > -80.0]

2 -- How would I word it when these two indicators cross their MA?

Comments

• markdmarkd mod
    edited May 2016
    Hi @vregan ,

This is the corrected version:

and [monthly FORCE(13) crosses 0.0]
    and [monthly Williams %R(14) crosses -80.0]

In both cases, the ">" sign is unnecessary. If you want, in place of the word "crosses" you could use the "cross above" operator, which is "x".

and [monthly FORCE(13) x 0.0]

The scan engine's operators are listed here, about 1/3 of the way down the page:

stockcharts.com/docs/doku.php?id=scans:advanced_scan_workbench

For crossing an MA, you would have to decide whether you want an exponential moving average (ema) or simple moving average (sma), and then the length of the average.

Let's assume an sma of 12 bars. The general form the sma (and ema) function is

sma(period, value)

So in the first case, the period is 12 and the value is monthly Force(13), so:

and [monthly Force(13) x monthly sma(12, monthly Force(13))]

Note you have to modify each term (Force and sma) with the time frame, in this case "monthly"

For Williams %R(14), just substitute that indicator for Force in the statement above. Watch your parentheses and your brackets.