New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.
Options

Weekly Full Stochastic Scan (14,3,3)

I am new to StockCharts.com and am asking for some help.

I am trying to write a scan where the Weekly Full Stoch (14,3,3) crosses above the 50 line.
Any idea how to do that? Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary Bird

Answers

• Options
    markdmarkd mod
    edited February 2018
    The condition you are looking for is

and [weekly Full Stoch %K(14,3,3) x 50]

But to write a complete scan, you need more. I'm guessing you want a quick start, but it does take a little time and effort to get a handle on the scan language and strategies for writing scans.

Fortunately, there is some great documentation to get you started:

https://stockcharts.com/docs/doku.php?id=scans

This is kind of a cheat sheet that I wrote for myself some time ago:

Scan writing rules

Every condition must be enclosed by two brackets – an opening bracket “[“ and a closing bracket “]”.

[ close > 10 ]

Every condition must have two terms connected by an operator.
    In the condition above, the terms are “close” and “10”. The operator is “>”.

There are two kinds of terms, numeric and non-numeric.

Numeric terms evaluate to a number. Prices, indicators, things like P/E or market cap, etc. are numeric terms because they evaluate to a number.

Non-numeric terms do not evaluate to a number. They are used to define types or groups of symbols you want to work with, like [group is SP500]. (“group” and “SP500” are the terms, “is” is the operator).

The two terms in your condition must be both of the same type - numeric or non-numeric.

Numeric terms will be connected by operators like >, <, x, =, >=, etc.
    Non-numeric terms will be connected by operators like “is”, “contains”, etc. See the documentation for a complete list of operators.