New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.
Options

Timeframe Continuity Scan Help

Hi everyone, complete newbie to writing scans.

I'm trying to write a simple scan and there is just one, make that 2 things that i can't find.

I want to scan for stocks that are above yesterday's close, this week's open, this month's open and this quarter's open. i got the 3 first right but can't find how to do the quarterly open.

I'd also like to be able to scan for stocks that just met these 4 criteria.

Here's the code

[type = stock] and [country is US]
and [SMA(20,volume) > 500000]
and [close > yesterday's close]
and [open > this week's open]
and [open > this month's open]

TIA

Claude

Comments

• Options
    markdmarkd mod
    edited June 2019
    As far as I know, there is no "quarterly" time frame modifier in the scan engine, even if your subscription allows quarterly charts.

https://stockcharts.com/docs/doku.php?id=faqs:what_data_periods_are_supported_by_the_scan_engine

also about half way down the page here:

https://stockcharts.com/docs/doku.php?id=scans:advanced_scan_syntax

If you want with the open on the first day of the most recent quarter, I think you would have to specify how many days ago that was, which of course would change every day. You could get the number of days ago from the calendar tool on the scan workbench page (but run the scan as of today, not the past date).

If you would be happy with the open approximately three months ago from the current date, instead of the calendar date of the first day of the current quarter, you could use 63 days ago open (assuming an average 21 trading days per month), or you could use something like 3 months ago monthly open.