New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

ATR Stops

I use ATR settings of 2xATR(8) & 5%. I am a swing trader so my trades tend to last from days to weeks. Any opinion as to the best ATR settings to use?
Thanks in advance!
Bruce

Comments

• Hi @brucefleet , I'm not sure there is a "best" setting. ATR does have the advantage of fluctuating with volatility, so I'm guessing it's fairly adaptable to different kinds of stocks. Finding the "best" theoretical setting would require some programming to analyze lots and lots of data. Even then, markets change, so it might not work so well going forward. Your setting is pretty wide, so I'm assuming you use it as a disaster stop rather than a profit taking stop.

But, if you are a swing trader, and you are trading with the trend on technicals and not fundamentals, there is no reason to hold through a large counter trend move, even if the longer trend is not over (and presumably, nobody can be sure of that). In an up trend, once sellers show strength and buyers are slow to respond, it's OK to get out on that weak buyer response instead of waiting for price to drop again. Getting out when danger appears (but not before) locks in your profit and gives you flexibility and peace of mind. If the trend is actually over, you are safe. If it's not, as a swing trader, you can always get back onto the trend again when real buying strength re-appears.
  • Which part of the setting to you believe is wide? 2x ATR or the 5%? All of my purchases are based strictly on TA. I am very happy with my buy side system I do believe though that real money is made (and risk management) on exits. I like ATR because of the flexibility based on volatility. BTW...thanks for your feedback. I find this one of the most difficult subjects.