New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Scan to catch a weekly divergence

I have a lot of experience analyzing technical charts but very little using the scan engine. Could somebody help me with 2 simple (I think) scans to catch a weekly divergence? On the chart below of XLI there are several divergences that I would have liked to catch with a scan. I would like to run these scans regularly on the various sectors of the market (like xli, xly, xlf, xlv, xlb, xlp, xlu, xlk). Specifically I would like to catch an sector etf which has been in a downtrend for at least 2 months and has a positive divergence in RSI (14) or in its relative strength (like xli:$spx). On the third week of Sept. 2015 there seems to be a divergence in xli:$spx and again in the second week of Jan 2016. Also, in the second week of Jan. 2016 there seems to be a positive divergence in the RSI of XLI (between the 4th week of Aug 2015 to the low in RSI in the 2nd week of Jan 2016).

How would I catch these? Thank you so much.

http://stockcharts.com/h-sc/ui?s=XLI&p=W&yr=3&mn=0&dy=0&id=p86017990171

Best Answers

• markdmarkd mod
    edited April 2016 Answer ✓
    Hi @BobS , welcome back!

First, as far as I know, you cannot write a scan that directly queries the Price or Price Performance indicator (e.g. xli:$spx). You could write something that ranks a list of the sector SPDRs by ROC(x), or for that matter by RSI(x), and include $SPX in that list. Those that appear above $SPX are outperforming it over that time period for that indicator.

// begin rank SPDR scan
    [favorites list is ??] // where ?? is the number assigned to your favorites list

rank by ROC(x)
    // rang by RSI(14)

// end scan

You can toggle the rank by statements using the "//" comment symbols. The scan engine ignores lines that begin with "//" or "#".