New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Scanning for pullbacks

I'm a COMPLETE beginner and I was wondering what is the best way to scan for charts with pull back potential. I don't know how to write my own scans(yet) are there any predefined scans I could use on a site like stockcharts.com or finviz.com also with the way the market has been goin lately should I be looking for Longs or shorts? I have been looking for Longs but don't really see the kinds of charts I'm looking for (which would be a stock in an uptrend on both the Weekly and daily charts that are falling on the right edge of the dailies) I thought about jus giving the whole idea of trading up last night but I really think my ADHD is kicking in and I'm jus making this to hard in my head..I don't want to throw in the towel its one of the VERY FEW things I'm interested in learning

Comments

• markdmarkd mod
    edited October 2015
    If you are serious about having ADHD, I'm not sure trading is something you might enjoy. There's an awful lot of waiting for the right situations to come around, and then more waiting once you are in a position. But you are the best judge of that.

It does take a while to learn to use a site like Stockcharts, so you shouldn't expect to just jump in and start scanning and trading right away. I don't think anyone completely new does that. Even someone with trading experience would need to take time to learn how to use all the tools here. On the other hand, everyone learns differently, so if you are one who needs to learn by doing, and can afford to lose money for a while as you learn, then you might start actually trading sooner.

I would suggest a few things. Watch the videos on scanning in chart school - and as many of the others as you want. Here's the link:

stockcharts.com/videos/