New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Scans: How to get yesterday's indicator value using weekly data points

Hi All, I am a newbie and am having difficulty accessing weekly indicator values for N days ago (with 1 day ago being yesterday).

I have tried the following without much luck...

First try:

1 day ago weekly RSI(14)

Second try:
weekly RSI(14) 1 day ago

Third try:
yesterday's weekly RSI(14)

I understand that I can use "This week", "Last week" and "weekly" which will give me the indicator value using weekly data points. I just can't seem to get it to spit out a historical weekly value.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Answers

• The scan engine is intended to return *symbols* that meet the conditions you specify in your scan, not text or data.

But, you can get specific values using the "rank by" statement. For instance,

rank by [weekly RSI(14)]

will display the value for weekly RSI in the result listing.

For weekly RSI values x days ago, you could try a couple of things. Run the rank phrase above, but use the calendar tool to run the scan as of x days ago. Or, edit the rank phrase to

rank by [x days ago weekly RSI(14)]

Mixing time frames is kind of a tricky thing. I don't do it, so I am not sure whether the results are valid. You can test them by setting up a chart that includes the indicator, then setting the chart's end date to the scan date.
  • Hi Mark, thank you very much for your quick reply. I agree - scans are to return securities symbols and not data. I also agree that mixing time frames is tricky. Your suggestion to use "rank by" summarizes my issue perfectly.

When added to the end of my scan, the engine accepts without syntax problems:
    rank by [4 days ago weekly RSI(14)]

However if I try to use "4 days ago weekly RSI(14)" as part of a cross expression: