New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.
Options

How to add SMA to RSI?

Hi. I'm totally new to charting and am working my way through the article "Capturing Mean-Reversion Signals and Trend Direction with One Indicator - Facebook Example". I've created the top chart and the bottom RSI(10) chart as shown in the article. However, at one point the author says, "So how do we quantify the trend? Simple. Just open the advance indicator settings on SharpCharts and add a 65-day SMA to RSI, which is around three months.". How do you overlay a 65-day SMA on top of the RSI chart as he does? The author says to open the advance indicator settings but I don't see them. Are they invisible because I only have a Basic paid account? I tried to add a second SMA indicator in the Indicator section below my RSI indicator but the pulldown menu (Accum/Distribution Line, Aroon, etc.) doesn't contain an SMA indicator. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    markdmarkd mod
    edited September 2019
    I think you are right. The Basic plan does not include the advanced options for indicators or overlays.

If it did, your chart workbench would look something like this with advanced options icon:

and here's what it looks like opened up. I use mostly moving averages, but for Indicators there are 19 options, like Bollinger Bands, Price Channels, MA envelopes, Slope, etc. For overlays, you just get more control over appearance.

• Options
    Thanks for your reply markd. Actually, shortly after I left my question (and after a lot of staring at the screen), I realized that there is an Overlay pulldown menu over to the right in my Indicators section that contains a Simple Moving Average option and I was able to get the SMA I was looking for.