New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Identifying Trends

Hi!

I am a newbie planning to buy naked calls of large-cap and middle cap, common stocks traded in the NYSE and the NASDAQ.

Philip Thygesen of Stock Market Strategy (https://www.stock-market-strategy.com) suggests to first identify the trend. One way, I opine, would be to compare the current SMA (or EMA) versus a prior SMA (or EMA). For example, the current 200-day SMA (or EMA) is greater than 200-day SMA (or EMA) for a year ago. Does it make sense? If so, would use use a SMA or an EMA? What timeframes would you use?

Thank you!

Doctor T

Comments

• If you want a very bullish trend, then you would test for price above the 50 and the 50 above the 200, and both MAs rising.

You can test for a rising MA as you suggest, by comparing its current value to a previous value. But you can use a much shorter look back period - maybe a month (21 bars on the daily) to three months on the 200 and maybe 10 to 21 bars on the 50.

If you use a very long look back period, it's more likely that the trend did not exist for the entire time. It may have dipped and recovered instead. If you want a very long term trend, you could test it several times - e.g. current > 3 mos ago, 3 mos ago > 6 mos ago, etc.

In general, EMAs respond more quickly to price behavior than SMAs. That matters if you are using the MA as a SIGNAL - that is, price crossing above or below the MA tells you to enter or exit, or the short MA crossing the long MA. EMAs will track price more closely, so if price is behaving normally (not spiking in range), you will get a signal sooner with EMAs. That may or may not be a good thing. EMAs are popular, so professionals like to run the stops when the public gets in all at once. Of course, if you think that will happen, you can plan your entry where others enter their stops.