New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Do you know what are the best indicators...???

Hello,
I was wondering what is your opinion in this subject , I am a beginner and want to invest my time to learn the best indicators.
WHAT YOU USE AND WHY ... ?

Your help will be highly appreciated.
Thanks

Best Answers

• markdmarkd mod
    Answer ✓
    All indicators have some value or they wouldn't have gained recognition. Probably the most well known are MACD and RSI along with the moving averages (technically these are overlays, not indicators) 50 and 200 in the daily time frame. These just happen to be on the Stockcharts default chart style.

All indicators have strengths and weaknesses and all work better in some markets than in others. Read the Chart School article on indicators to understand the differences:

https://stockcharts.com/school/doku.php?id=chart_school:technical_indicators:introduction_to_technical_indicators_and_oscillators

• markdmarkd mod
    Answer ✓

Many authors recommend keeping things simple and using just a very few indicators. They argue that using more leads to "analysis paralysis". And in fact indicators will seldom agree because they are measuring different things - or the same thing differently. The main thing is, I think, don't use an indicator if you don't thoroughly understand what it measures, what causes it to move and what kinds of things happen when it does move. So you will start with maybe one or two, and gradually add or delete as your understanding grows.

That said, I'll just give a brief description of what I use and why.