New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.
Options

Trending Up?

Hi!

I am a newbie who is learning stock options trading and who is planning to write vertical credit spreads for “lunch money” (i.e., small income). To hold a balanced (i.e., “delta neutral”) portfolio, first, I'll look at bull spreads and, then, I'll look at bear spreads.

Say that, using an “ouija board,” I have identified three dozen stocks that are or will be trending up. However, I charted many of the stocks and, for at least some, it appears that they started to rally some time ago.

How can I tell, using indicators, if the stocks are “running out of fuel” or if the price of the stocks will rise in the near future?

Thank you!

Dr. T

Comments

• Options
    I know you asked for indicators, but the first sign of a problem with at trend comes from volume. There are several variations.

The first is climax volume. Very high volume, maybe at least twice the monthly average of daily volume, clears out buyers so there is no one left to buy. This usually happens at after an up leg has been in place for at least several bars and price is in new high territory - not breaking out or reaching a previous top.

The second is several bars, usually not consecutive, where volume strong (higher than the day before and the monthly average), but price closes down, or fails to make a new high in the current leg, or closes below the midpoint of it's range, or range is really compressed, considering the volume. The lack of progress shows much of the volume is sellers, not buyers, which shows that higher prices have started attracting selling that comes close to matching the buying and could soon overtake it.