New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.
Options

Stan Weinstein's 30 week scan

Hi,

I am new to Stockcharts and enjoying and learning from the site.

Can someone help me to develop a scan to identify stocks meeting Stan Weinstein's break-out/break-down criteria, as written in his book Secrets of Profit in Bull and Bear Markets:

In simple terms scan should identify stocks that are in range (Stage 1) for sometime, 30 week MA is flat, and then price breaks out of range with high volume.

Please see attached picture.

Looking forward to your help.

Regards,

John F.

Comments

• Options
    markdmarkd mod
    edited January 2016
    I think the way to approach this is with two scans, one to qualify the stocks as potential breakout candidates, and the second to find the breakout within a list of those candidates.

Price behavior is so variable that no scan can catch every situation that you would pick out by eye. You can see this if you look at the examples in Weinstein's book. Some rise before they break out, some dip. The problem when writing any scan is balancing general and specific conditions. If a scan is too broad, it picks up too many false positives, but if it is too narrow it misses too many good candidates.

I don't have an ready built scan for this, but here's an approach to start with.

Write a condition to find the 52 week upper price channel is greater than it was 52 weeks ago.

Then you want the 52 week upper price channel to be equal to it's value say 10 weeks ago.

These two conditions establish that the stock has risen but maybe in a pause.

Now look for a rising 13 week LOWER price channel - so maybe it's greater than 13 weeks ago. This means price lows are rising, approaching the upper channel.