New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.
Options

Scan for Weekly volume jump by 300%

Hi, Looking at the weekly bars I'm having trouble figuring out how to scan for stocks where the weekly volume has jumped by over 300% compared to the prior week.
I'm not a coder and have tried carious syntax including something like this
//and [Volume > *3]
but it failed,
If anyone might be able to help me here, I would very much appreciate any help. Thank you.

//UNIVERSAL US STOCKS EXCLUDING ETFS
[type = stock] //Defines the types of instrument that will be scanned
AND [GROUP IS NOT ETF] //Excludes ETFs from scan
and [country is US]

AND [Daily SMA(20,Daily Volume) > 100000] //Requires the 20 day Simple Moving Average of Volume is over 100,000 shares
AND [Daily SMA(50,Daily Close) > 2] //Requires that the daily 50 Day Simple Moving Average of price is over $5.00
AND [market cap > 500] //Requires that MARKET CAP is over 500,000,000 (Market Cap calculations in Millions)

and [weekly volume > 1 week ago volume]

Comments

• Options
    Writing scans for time frames other than daily can be tricky.

The scan engine always assumes you want daily ( in other words, the daily time frame is the default, or automatic), so when you want weekly or monthly, you have to tell the scan engine that's what you want EVERY TIME you want weekly or monthly.

In other words, every term that can take a time frame modifier like weekly or monthly (all prices and all indicators, but not, say, symbol properties like market cap and sector) must have one or the scan engine will assume you mean daily.

It's OK to mix time frames in a single scan (not recommended, but OK), but it's usually wrong to mix them in a single condition (meaning within one set of brackets). So your scan is OK as written up to the last line: