New Members: Be sure to confirm your email address by clicking on the link that was sent to your email inbox. You will not be able to post messages until you click that link.

Performing Hourly EMA scans

Hi, I just joined Stockcharts.com and, having never used the site before at all, and am a complete newbie. So, please forgive if this is a stupid question or something I should be able to figure out myself, but I'm just trying to get up and running and quickly and easily as possible, before give in to inertia and give up or put off using the site perpetually.

My question is how to perform and modify the following scan: 8/20 hourly EMA crossover of large cap optionable stocks and ETF's traded on major US exchanges.

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Unfortunately, the scan engine doesn't accommodate scanning for intraday time frames (i.e.time frames less than a full day).
  • Swinger72Swinger72
    edited July 2020
    Wow, that's surprising! The desire to perform intraday technical scans is whole reason I joined stockcharts.com. I can perform tech scans on daily charts with Fidelity ATP or Power Etrade, for free.

Does anyone know of any site that would allow me to do that? Or is there another way to do it with stockcharts.com, a "workaround" perhaps?
  • markdmarkd mod
    edited July 2020
    No workaround. You can run scans intraday - the scan engine considers the most recent update as the close of the trading period - daily, weekly, monthly. So you can get intraday signals on daily, etc. indicators, but not time frames lower than one day. Metastock or Tradestation probably allows it, but there is a learning curve, and the subscription fees are higher. Stockcharts is really orientated to the swing trader/investor, not day traders. My guess is that could be change as the site grows.

https://support.stockcharts.com/doku.php?id=faqs:what_data_periods_are_supported_by_the_scan_engine